Random Stuff

I’m too busy to put together a proper post right now, but wanted to append a couple of photos that I forgot to include in previous posts.

Female Calliope Hummingbird

Female Calliope Hummingbird

The Calliope Hummingbird shown above showed up at one of my sugar-water feeders in May of this year. At first, I wasn’t even sure that it was a Calliope, as females typically have a light-but-noticeable spotted pattern on the gorget (throat). I wondered out loud if this individual may have been a freak occurrence of a very early hatch-year female Rufous Hummer, but a friend of mine set me straight. Apparently the spotted gorget pattern is rather variable.

Nonetheless, a Calliope Hummer during spring migration is a nice sight. The vast majority migrate through the interior West, but a small number do make their spring journey west of the Cascades, particularly if it’s a cold spring (that was not the case this year). I typically see one at my hummingbird feeders every other year or so. A few days after photographing this individual, I had a male Calliope at the same feeder. Unfortunately, it didn’t return for a photo shoot.

Male Hooded Merganser

Male Hooded Merganser

The Hooded Merganser photo above was taken in December of 2013 and apparently slipped through the cracks. Hooded Mergansers are easily my favorite duck. So elegant.

OK, that’s it for now. Later this month, I’ll have a more thorough post of sightings from this year.

Leave a Reply

